Washington Trucking Associations

Safety Management Council

Safety Management Council Mission Statement 

The mission of the WTA Safety Management Council 
is to provide timely information, educational tools, 
and a forum for the networking and exchange of ideas 
to promote safety among WTA member companies, and 
reflect a positive image to the general public.


Why You'll Want to Join...

Safety professionals in the trucking industry wear many hats including driver safety and education, human resource management, enforcement issues, local, state, and federal regulations, to name a few. These tasks keep today's truck safety professionals very busy. Staying current on multiple requirements and keeping an eye on the company's bottom line is a never ending challenge.

But there is assistance available. The WTA's Safety Management Council offers safety professionals in Washington an easy and accessible source of ideas, information, and professional development for every type of operation. Promoting highway safety among Washington motorists and the trucking community is our primary focus.

In addition, the Safety Management Council hosts the Annual Washington State Truck Driving Championships and coordinates the Annual Safe Fleet, Safe Driver, and Annual Safety Professional of the Year Awards given to each of the WTA's motor carrier conferences. The council meets regularly on a monthly basis.

Safety Management Board of Directors - 2015-2017

Company  Title Name
Country Green Turf Farms Chairman Will Jones
General Transport ProTem Chairman Mike Tamboer
Veneer Chip Transport   Jennifer Tremlett
Oak Harbor Freight Lines   David Martin
Plymouth Poultry   Kevin Ostendorf 
WalMart   Kirk Watkins


Past Chairpersons 

Name Company Dates
Mike Southards Interstate Distributor Co. 1985 - 1987
Howard Stirk Puget Sound Truck Lines 1987 - 1989
Mike Johnson Haney Truck Lines 1989 - 1991
Jim Woods Oak Harbor Freight Lines 1991 - 1993
Vance Butler The Boeing Company 1993 - 1999
Dennis Morgan Brownline Inc. 1999 - 2001
Bruce Binder Gordon Trucking 2001 - 2003
Curt Burhenn  Peninsula Truck Lines 2003 - 2005
Tom Anderson Interstate Distributor Co. 2005 - 2007
Jill Snyder Premier Transport 2007 - 2009
Larry Hansen Oak Harbor Freight Lines 2009 - 2011
G.C. Faircloth Safeway 2011 - 2013
Scott Manthey Interstate Distributor Co. 2013 - 2015
Curt Burhenn Peninsula Truck Lines Inc. 2015 - 2017

For more information contact: 
Mike Southards, Safety Director 

Direct Phone: (253) 236-3549 
Toll Free: (800) 732-9019 

Or email mike@watrucking.org